Home‎ > ‎Site Admins‎ > ‎

Merging Contacts

This feature allows one contact record to be merged into another. For example, if a site has two contact records for the same person, merging will change links from one contact record to the contact record you want to be active.

The record that is merged will still exist in the database. It will be automatically marked inactive and be 'empty', except for a note showing "This Contact was merged into Jane Doe on mm/dd/yyyy".

Your user role must have the Merge Contacts permission in Admin / User Roles (Permissions) to use this feature.

If your user role has the necessary permission, each contact profile page will display a "Merge into Another Contact" link in the taskbar or Actions menu. That link displays a page where you select the contact you want to merge into, or, if this contact is already scheduled to be merged, cancel or perform the merge. Note that a contact merge can be an intensive process, potentially updating thousands of records, so it is best to have them occur during non-business hours.

All scheduled contact merges can be viewed on the Admin / Contact Merge Queue page. You can re-order the entries, cancel merges, and and set the time for the merge to occur.

A history of all merges is available on the Admin / Contact Merge Log page.

Notes:
  • If the contacts are users, the user accounts are not automatically changed. Administrators need to manually change the Login Active and Current fields to No by editing system information on the user profile of each merged contact.
  • If one contact record is linked to a user account and the other is not, you typically want to merge the non-user record into the one linked to a user account.