Home‎ > ‎Site Admins‎ > ‎

Merging Organizations

This feature allows one organization to be merged into another. For example, if organization A and organization B should really be one organization, merging will change the links from cases, users, timeslips, etc. on organization A to point to organization B. Merging will also merge addresses, organization types, contacts, etc.

Organization A will still have a record in the database. The record will automatically be marked inactive. It will be 'emtpy' except for a note that contains "This Organization was merged into Organization B on mm/dd/yyyy".

Your user role must have the Merge Organizations permission in Admin / User Roles (Permissions) to use this feature.

If your user role has the necessary permission, each organization profile page will display a "Merge into Another Organization" link in the taskbar. That link displays a page where you select the organization you want to merge into, or, if this organization is already scheduled to be merged, cancel or perform the merge. Note that an organization merge can be an intensive process, potentially updating thousands of records, so it is best to have them occur during non-business hours.

All scheduled organization merges can be viewed on the Admin / Organization Merge Queue page. You can re-order the entries, cancel merges, and and set the time for the merge to occur.

A history of all merges is available on the Admin / Organization Merge Log page.