Home‎ > ‎Site Admins‎ > ‎User Roles and Permissions‎ > ‎

Standard User Role Setup

Additional permissions are added to LegalServer with new releases. When these permissions are added, by default, they do not change the existing permissions on user roles. At times, the administrator should periodically check the Administrator user role to add any new permissions connected to new modules or features.

If your site uses the security of Internal/External IP addresses, visibility differences should be considered by the administrator for each role.

Administrator - Has all available permissions. Able to modify processes, forms and profiles and manage all other system users and settings.

User - Basic staff user role. Includes permissions to open and close and reject cases, create document templates and track time slips.

Managing Attorney - This role includes all of the same permissions as the User role, except adds the ability to reopen closed cases or reopen rejected matters.

Report Builder
- This role contains the same permissions as the User role, but with Report Builder tools, allowing the user to create new reports from scratch or permanently modify existing reports.

Pro Bono Coordinator - This role contains all the same permission as the User role, but with additional tools necessary for pro bono attorney management. Includes the following: adding users, administering user names and passwords, pro bono opportunities, delete Outreach/Other Matter records, and modify lookup list items (for Subjects or other pro bono user profile related lists).

Volunteer - This role is intended for non-staff members. Primary use is for pro bono attorneys who do not log in to the system. All pro bono volunteers must be created as users in the system for purposes of case referrals/assignment.

Pro Bono Restricted Access - This role is intended for pro bono volunteers who allow to log in to LegalServer for purposes of basic case management or as part of the pro bono opportunities module participation. This role includes only very limited permissions, eliminating the main tabs and most of the top level navigation links.