Mass Assignment Updates

Purpose: This feature allows transferring multiple assignments from one user to another, or ending multiple assignments for a user.

A common use is when a user leaves an organization and you need to reassign all their open cases to another user.

Notes

  • User Role Permission needed: "Allow Mass User Updating".
  • Despite "Prescreen" appearing in the Affected Dispositions list, the prescreen intake user cannot be updated using this feature. That field does not create an assignment.
  • Assignments can only be transferred to a staff user. Pro bono users show up in the "To:" list, but are not included in Step 2. (Ref: LS-117890)
  • This feature does not change the assigned office or assigned program. There is currently no mass way to change either of those fields.
  • If you select a future transfer date when transferring, the new assignments will immediately appear in most assignment lists, including "My Cases" or "My Assignments" on homepages. These lists look for "current" assignments (no End Date) and do not filter out assignments with a Start Date in the future.

Updating multiple assignments is a three step process.

Step 1

Begin by clicking Actions > Mass Assignment Update link on the user profile of the person you are transferring assignments from or ending assignment for. You can also start from the Admin > Mass Assignment Update page.

On the initial screen, choose whether Transfer or End assignments. The options vary for each one:

The Assignment Types options when ending assignments intentionally does not include Primary. You can't end current Primary assignments, only transfer them to another user.

Step 2

The next page presents a list of matters based on the previous entries. You can change the default filters.

If you are ending assignments, the list will not have the "Assign To" column.

Check the box for each matter you want to change.

Step 3

The confirmation page lists the matters that will be changed.

If you are transferring assignments, the current user's assignment will get an End Date (not be deleted) and a new assignment created for the selected user.

We highly recommend printing or otherwise saving this list before clicking Continue to make the changes. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us