Copying a Live Site to Demo

Over time, changes are often made to live sites that are not also made on an organization's demo site. You may want to update your demo site to match the live site to ease testing of new processes, for training, etc.

LegalServer can replace an organization's demo site with a copy of the live site if site administrators do not want to manually update the demo site.

Cost: $400.

Optional: You can have the refreshed data anonymized for an additional charge. If desired, put that in your request (see below) and add that to the amount you authorize for billing.

In this Article:

What this Does

  • Replaces all processes, forms, and profiles on the demo site with those on the live site.
  • Replaces all data (cases, timeslips, users, etc.) on the demo site with the data from the live site.
  • Replaces all reports on the demo site with those from the live site.
  • Does not copy documents (including any logo files) or document templates from the live site. See Documents not Copied below.
  • If your site has the SMS module, the Twilio number copied from the live site is deleted on the refreshed demo site.
  • Any Scheduled Reports copied from the live site are deleted from the refreshed demo site.

How To Request

Start the process by filing a support request from your site (Help menu > Support Request). Put the following obligatory text into the ticket description:

I request that LegalServer copy our live site to our demo site. I understand this will remove all information from the demo site, replacing it with the information on the live site at the time the copy is performed, and that documents (including templates and logos) are not copied. I authorize LegalServer to bill us $400.00 for this service.

If you want the new demo site data anonymized, include:

I authorize LegalServer to anonymize data on our demo site and to bill us $500.00.

We will send an invoice, and after we receive payment, we will typically perform the copy within a week. If you have a specific deadline to meet, put that in your support request and we will try to accommodate it.

There is no downtime for the live site, but the demo site will be offline for up to an hour.

A fresh pine scent can be added at no extra charge if requested.

The phrases "refresh demo" and "refresh from live" are here because those are common searches.

After the Copy

  • User information is copied, including login credentials, so usernames and passwords on the refreshed demo site will initially be the same as the live site (but will diverge thereafter, like everything else).
  • Any Scheduled Reports on the live site are deleted from the new demo database because people are sad if they start getting duplicate emails from two sites.
  • Any Twilio phone number copied from the live site is deleted because bad things can happen when two sites have the same Twilio number. Site administrators wishing to use SMS on the refreshed demo site will need to manually re-enter the number on the Admin > SMS & Telephony page.

Documents not Copied

Documents not being copied includes document templates. This will result in errors on forms that reference templates, such as the "Document Packet Generation" block some sites use in the pro bono referral process. Administrators will need to configure such blocks to remove the template references, and optionally upload any desired templates to the demo site, map them, and select them in these blocks.

SharePoint Warning

A newly refreshed demo site will contain references to your "live site" SharePoint site(s) and library(ies), including linking cases with existing SharePoint folders to the folders for the Live cases.

You will almost certainly want to:

  • Fix or delete all references in the Admin > Lookups > SharePoint Site Library lookup.
  • Disable, delete, and re-add the SharePoint Documents block on all case profiles. Move the block into Disabled Elements, check the box to Delete Disabled Elements, then Save and Stay on Page.
  • Disable, delete, and re-add the SharePoint - Create Case Folder block on any intake and auxiliary forms. On each form, move the block into Disabled Elements, check the box to Delete Disabled Elements, then Save and Stay on Page.
  • Adjust any Guided Navigation dialogues that set SharePoint information on cases.

Dropbox Warning

LegalServer stores the unique ID for the Dropbox folder on the case. Currently, this link will get copied from Live to Demo linking cases with existing Dropbox folders to the Live location.

You will almost certainly want to:

  • Disable, delete, and re-add the Dropbox Documents block on all case profiles. Move the block into Disabled Elements, check the box to Delete Disabled Elements, then Save and Stay on Page.
  • Disable, delete, and re-add the Dropbox - Create Case Folder block on any intake and auxiliary forms. On each form, move the block into Disabled Elements, check the box to Delete Disabled Elements, then Save and Stay on Page.

Google Drive Folder Version Warning

LegalServer stores the unique ID for the Google Drive folder on the case. Currently, this link will get copied from Live to Demo linking cases with existing Google Drive folders to the Live location.

You will almost certainly want to:

  • Fix or delete all references in the Admin > Lookups > Google Drive Initial Folders lookup.
  • Disable, delete, and re-add the Google Drive Documents block on all case profiles. Move the block into Disabled Elements, check the box to Delete Disabled Elements, then Save and Stay on Page.
  • Disable, delete, and re-add the Google Drive - Create Case Folder block on any intake and auxiliary forms. On each form, move the block into Disabled Elements, check the box to Delete Disabled Elements, then Save and Stay on Page.
  • Adjust any Guided Navigation dialogues that set Google Drive folderson cases.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.